Hughes Robbins, P.S.
Washington DUI Hearing Fees Increase
On October 1, 2012, the fee for a Department of Licensing (DOL) hearing request is set to increase from $200 to $375.
Under the Washington DUI laws, all drivers have impliedly consented to taking a breathalyzer test following a DUI arrest. Anyone that refuses to take a blood or breath test, or who takes the test and has an alcohol concentration over the legal limit will have their driver’s license suspended or revoked by the Department of Licensing unless they request a hearing.
Although the fee for requesting a DOL hearing has increased, it is still important that anyone arrested for a DUI requests a hearing. For those who do not have the financial ability to pay the hearing fee, they can file an “affidavit of indigency” with the DOL to waive the fee.